Nathanson, Nathan L.
 
Undoubtedly the most powerful person in Canadian movie theatre history, Nathan L. Nathanson founded the country’s two most important movie theatre chains and claimed to have spearheaded the move toward larger, more luxurious movie palaces.
Born in 1886 in Minneapolis, Nathanson began his career by supervising refreshment stands in amusement parks such as Montreal’s Dominion Park. In 1916, he participated in the opening of the Regent Theatre in Toronto. The Regent was the first theatre in the Famous Players Canadian Corporation chain, officially launched in 1920 with Nathanson as president. By this time, Nathanson also controlled Regal Films, the distribution outfit that acquired Léo-Ernest Ouimet ’s Specialty Film Import in 1922.
Nathanson twice resigned from Famous Players to fight for Canadian ownership (naturally benefiting his own interests), but his Hollywood partner, Paramount Pictures, asserted its authority each time. In a counter move, Nathanson fostered the launching of Canadian Odeon Theatres in 1941, which was officially headed by his son Paul. As with Famous Players, Canadian Odeon relied heavily on foreign investment, in this case British Odeon’s J. Arthur Rank. After Nathanson’s death in 1943, Rank assumed control of both Canadian Odeon and Paramount of Famous Players, leaving most downtown Canadian movie theatres foreign-owned. Galaxy-Onex’s takeover of Cineplex Odeon and Famous Players in 2005 marked the first time since Nathanson’s death that a Canadian-based company controlled a majority of Canada’s movie theatres.
 
 
test
  Document larger view  
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
More info
Moore, Paul S. 2003. “Nathan L. Nathanson Introduces Canadian Odeon: Producing National Competition in Film Exhibition.” Canadian Journal of Film Studies/Revue canadienne d’études cinématographiques, Vol. 12, no. 2 (Fall), p. 22-45.

Nathanson, Nathan L.
 
Fondateur des deux plus importantes chaînes de salles de cinéma canadiennes, principal responsable de la construction de plusieurs des palaces cinématographiques construits au cœur des villes du pays, Nathan L. Nathanson fut sans contredit la plus puissante personnalité de l’histoire du cinéma au Canada.
Nathanson naît aux États-Unis, à Minneapolis, en 1886. On le retrouve vers 1910 à Montréal, où il gère une des buvettes du parc Dominion. Nathanson migre ensuite vers Toronto, où il est impliqué en 1916 dans l’ouverture du cinéma Regent, premier maillon de ce qui deviendra en 1920 la chaîne Famous Players Canadian Corporation. En plus d’occuper la présidence de Famous Players, Nathanson contrôle dans les années 1920 l’important distributeur Regal Films, qui absorbe en 1922 la Specialty Film Import de Léo-Ernest Ouimet.
Le combat de Nathanson pour le contrôle canadien (c’est-à-dire, pour son propre contrôle) de Famous Players le pousse à claquer la porte de la chaîne par deux fois. La volonté de contrôle de son partenaire américain, la Paramount d’Adolph Zukor, prévaut cependant à chaque occasion. Nathanson réplique en organisant au début des années 1940 la chaîne Canadian Odeon Theatres, officiellement dirigée par son fils Paul. Cette chaîne dépend toutefois elle aussi de capitaux étrangers. J. Arthur Rank de British Odeon est en effet son principal bailleur de fonds. Rank prend d’ailleurs le contrôle de Canadian Odeon après le décès de Nathan L. Nathanson en 1943. Il faut par conséquent attendre la prise de contrôle par Galaxy-Onex de Famous Players et de Cineplex-Odeon en 2005 pour voir pour la première fois une entreprise canadienne contrôler la majorité des cinémas du pays.
 
 
test
  Agrandir le document  
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Pour en savoir plus
Moore, Paul S. 2003. « Nathan L. Nathanson Introduces Canadian Odeon : Producing National Competition in Film Exhibition ». Canadian Journal of Film Studies/Revue canadienne d’études cinématographiques, vol. 12, no 2 (automne), p. 22-45.